U.S. Territories

Northern Mariana Islands. A U.S. territory. I never knew.

I found out when I saw it on a commemorative 2009 quarter. The quarter was very shiny so I looked to see which state it was. Only it wasn’t a state.

Besides the quarters for the 50 states, the U.S. Mint produced quarters for the District of Columbia (have you seen their vehicle license plates? It says Taxation Without Representation), and the 5 U.S. Territories. Can you name the territories?

Puerto Rico
U.S. Virgin Islands
American Samoa
Northern Mariana Islands

And just where are the Northern Mariana Islands? About three quarters of the way between Hawai’i and the Philipines. Guam is to the south.

It wasn’t a territory when I was a 5th grader.


North America

In reading the Associated Press Stylebook 2008 again, I see that North America includes Canada, Mexico, the United States and the Danish territory of Greenland.

Greenland? In North America? I guess I just thought it was . . . somewhere else.

And, the stylebook explains, “when the term is used in more than its continental sense, it also may include the islands of the Carribean.”

Greenland and — sometimes — the Carribean islands? North America a lot bigger than I thought!


According to the Associated Press Stylebook 2008, the U.S Census Bureau includes 16 states in the South region. The South region has three divisions: East South Central, West South Central and South Atlantic States.

East South Central: Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi and Tennessee.

West South Central: Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Texas.

South Atlantic: Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia.

Delaware is a southern state? I never knew . . .