Sounds of Silence

The other day I caught the house unawares.

The refrigerator wasn’t running. I didn’t have any clothes agitating in the washing machine or tumbling in the dryer. The radio and TV were turned off. My computer was shut down. The air conditioner was not cooling or heating. The dishwasher was idle. The phone was not ringing. The microwave was empty. The oven was not heating. Nothing was simmering on the stove.

I took a few moments and listened to Mother Nature’s version of the Sounds of Silence. I could hear the crickets and the birds. I could hear the wind in the trees.

I went outside, stepped off the back porch and reached out to hold hands with Mother Nature. It was time to play.

Postaweek2011

Leave a Reply

