Watercolor Secrets

I took a class last Saturday. (This is a big joke at work. I frequently show up at my co-workers’ cubicles and say, “I took a class and have show and tell.” More on that later.)

Sunflowers and vase outlined
Sunflowers and vase outlined

There were 6 of us in the class and 5 of us had never painted anything before. I was in the “never painted” group. We had a great time and we were all happy with our sunflower paintings. I learned a lot and I’m going to pass on a few watercolor secrets to you.

First, get a great instructor. We did. Sign up for a class where you only have to bring yourself; all the materials are provided. Yes! Then, be in a group of people who are a joy to be around. That was us. Color outside the lines. (Harder for some people than others, but we all survived.)

Finished watercolor of sunflowers in a vase
Finished sunflowers

Celebrate a birthday with red velvet cake at lunch time. Yummy! Look at your work from across the table and through a camera; it looks really good this way, no matter what you stage you are at. Remember to breathe. And, as always, have fun. (It was so much fun, I’m going to do it again.)

And now you know everything I know about watercolor painting.

Postaweek2011

Leave a Reply

