Ambushed Effect

I don’t know about you, but I need to take two maybe three tote bags into the grocery store, even if I have only 4 or 5 items on my list. I’ve learned that if I take in 1 bag, I end up walking out with an extra couple of paper bags (or plastic bags, depending on where I’m shopping).

I call this the Ambushed Effect.

What happens is that while I’m standing there minding my own business and looking for an item on my list, other items jump off the shelves into my cart when my back is turned. No, really.

I once had an entire line of M&Ms jump off a shelf. When I turned back around, there they were, a pile of M&M bags in the middle of my cart. Pretzel M&Ms (blue bag), Peanut (yellow bag), Peanut Butter (red bag), Milk Chocolate (brown bag), Dark Chocolate (pretty purple bag).

I looked around to see what was going on. I couldn’t see anything out of line and it didn’t seem to be happening to anyone else. If I had put them back, I would have looked like an employee who was stocking the shelves. I was too embarrassed to try that, so I kept them. Fortunately, they were on sale, so the damage wasn’t too bad.

As I was unloading the M&M bags at the checkout, I uncovered a bag of Cheetos White Cheddar Puffs. What?  How did they get there?

Postaweek2011

Leave a Reply

