A Retro 1957 Chevy

A retro 1957 Chevy. That’s what I want as a Valentine’s Day present. Or any day’s present.

By the time I was old enough to get my driver’s license, the ’57 Chevy Bel Air was already a classic. It turned heads wherever it went. I don’t think I ever got to ride in one, much less drive one. A deprived adolescence and adulthood, that’s all I can say about that.

1957 Chevy Bel Air
1957 Chevy Bel Air, photo courtesy of Wikipedia

I saw an original ’57 Chevy fairly recently at a car wash, getting all detailed and gussied up. That’s how I got a good look at it, inside and out. Whoever owned that car had taken real good care of it. Very nice.

The retro version that I want doesn’t exist. I’m talking about a car with the original look (mostly) but with all the modern bells and whistles. That car I saw at the car wash? My ’60s hoop earrings are as big as those side mirrors. (Yes, some things you just can’t let go of.) The dashboard wasn’t deep enough to hold a GPS or an unfolded map. I love my outdoor thermometer and compass in my SUV, but there is no place for those instruments. Music — or the lack of it — would be an issue because there weren’t buttons for both FM and AM radio stations. CDs hadn’t been invented yet, much less USB ports or Bluetooth. And no cup holders? Seriously?

See, that’s what I mean. It just needs a little updating, a little 21st century conversion. Gotta have those fins, though, gotta have those fins. A modern retro version would be beautiful in its own right and fun to drive. Another Chevy classic. Anyone listening out in Chevrolet land? Call me!

Postaweek2011

One thought on “A Retro 1957 Chevy

Leave a Reply

