It’s Party Time!

It’s Party Time!

My friend, Nancy, is into numbers. She knew way ahead of time that this New Year’s Day would be 1-1-11. She hosted a party with a start time of 11:00 a.m. That’s 1-1-11 at 11. Cool.

Now, I never go to parties on New Year’s Eve, or any other eve. I am definitely a morning person and I turn into a pumpkin way before midnight. So a party that starts at 11:00 a.m.? That’s my kind of party.

I arrive a few minutes late. Nancy is there. Lucy, her friend who is helping her with the party, is there. I am there. No one else is there.

Nancy had changed the start time to 1:00 p.m. due to the weather forecast (making that 1-1-11 at 1, still numerically correct). Only some of us didn’t get that update. Me. I wasn’t a few minutes late. I was two hours early.

That didn’t bother us.

I followed Nancy and Lucy around the kitchen while they finished preparing the food items for the party. Mostly everything was ready; ready enough for me to eat. I had the required black-eyed peas, vegetarian tamales, and chips and queso (just a taste of queso).

I got my own private party. It was fun. I’m glad I didn’t know about the time change, as I had to be somewhere at 1:00. I wouldn’t have gone to the party if I had known it started at 1:00 p.m.

A few minutes before I left, two other people showed up. They also thought they were late. They were only one hour early. They got their own private party, too.

A good time was had by all.

Leave a Reply

