Cubism

I was making lunch one day, kale and avocado salad. (I must explain, here, that the recipe calls for 1/2 avocado. Note to the world: there is no such thing as 1/2 avocado. There is only a whole avocado and it’s for me. There may well be two halves to an avocado, but they are eaten at the same time. There is no “later” for any avocado in my house.)

I was looking for a bowl big enough for all the chopped kale. And remember, I’m one who can use up most of the kitchen items in making a sandwich. This kale and entire-avocado salad (who cares what the recipe says) needed a bowl bigger than I usually use, so I started looking around in the cabinets.

You’d think that because it’s my kitchen that I’d know where everything is. Okay, well, I do now. Probably. Anyway, the bowl I was looking for was in the second cabinet I looked in, so that search didn’t take too long.

But in the first cabinet, where I thought the bowl was (and I’m thinking it used to be there, until I-don’t-know-when), I found some ice cube trays.

Ten ice cube trays.

I have two robin’s-egg blue trays with the square cubes, two white trays also with the square cubes, five light blue trays with oval cubes and one blue tray for miniature ice cubes.

The light blue trays each have 12 ice cube holders. The robin’s-egg blue, as well as the white trays, have 14 holders. The miniature tray has 60 holders. The two white trays in the freezer with square cubes have 14 each. That makes 12 ice cube trays, total. (Excuse me while I do math now.)

I’m pretty sure that’s 204 ice cubes, in one shape or another.

I have no idea how I ended up with so many ice cube trays. We’ve had only one refrigerator at this house. Wedding gifts, maybe, from friends and family who worry about global warming?

3 thoughts on “Cubism

  1. Well this is strange as I have no ice cube trays. We have an ice maker, my husband always throws out things which are not used in a year or less. I have a compulsion to see an ice cube tray and count the number of cubes. I am so laughing inside thinking about why I would even care how many, but this is me.
    I agree also with the idea that there can be no such thing as half an avocado. Avocado is my second most favorite fruit besides tomatoes. Don’t argue with me, tomatoes are friut. I have been through this before and you just don’t want to go there.

    1. Absolutely tomatoes are a fruit, as are jalapenos. When we make homemade salsa, I call it a fruit salad. Chips and fruit salad, you betcha!

Leave a Reply

