Winter Weather Wimp

Winter Weather Wimp. That’s me. Oh, I’m sure I’m not the only one, but it’s not like you can tell by looking and recognize who we are, can you?

I don’t like the cold dark or the dark cold. I just can’t get much done in those conditions. And cold and dark with rain, sleet or snow? Forget it; I’m into minor hibernation. And leaving work early.

This is a lesson I learned the hard way. Remember back in the old days, when we used dumb terminals — and were happy to have them? The Internet may have been born already, but it was just a baby, in a galaxy far, far away. We called Time and Temperature for our weather updates from our desk phones. No Internet, no cell phones. Really.

Anyway, one day, a long time ago, a winter storm hit central Texas. Only I didn’t know it until I was leaving the office, walked onto the catwalk between my agency’s two buildings and saw . . . snow. Everywhere. Like on the ground.

It was way too late to leave early and get ahead of the traffic. I was just in time, though, to get on the road with everyone else in downtown Austin. It seemed as if we had all exited our offices in unison. Downtown traffic was a mess.

We were all on the road together, going mostly nowhere. It took me an hour and a half to drive a mile and a half. Seriously.

I managed to make it home safely . . . much, much later. Some people abandoned their vehicles on the roadsides. One of my co-workers was almost home when his pick-up flipped onto its top. He got out, unharmed, and walked the rest of the way home.

Now that we have the Internet and weather radar, I’m on top of the weather situation. Chance of snow? I’m heading straight for the house. I should get a bumper sticker: Winter Weather Wimp, heading home.

Leave a Reply

