Milestones

On Thursday 08 October 2009 at 5:30 p.m., I was driving home on US Highway 183 and watched as the odometer on my truck turned over to 150,000 miles.

At 5:30 a.m. that very same day, I got in my truck to drive to work, started it up (yea, it started!), and turned on my radio. Or, I reached over to try to turn on my radio. No radio turned on. At all. No sounds. Silence.

The CD player was already broken. It quit working the week after the warranty ran out, about 5 years ago. I can live without a CD player, but I was not happy with the idea about driving without a radio.

Besides playing the radio loud enough to drown out my own singing, I need the radio for the traffic reports. Rain had come back into our area and was forecast for the next few days. I really wanted to be able to listed to traffic reports so I could adjust my routes to and from work due to low water crossings.

Oh, and I was driving to Houston the next day. Great, now I was going to have to entertain myself on an out-of-town driving trip.

I identified out-of-state license plates: Look, there’s Wyoming! And South Dakota! And isn’t that a new plate design for Georgia?

I read traffic signs out loud: Speed limit 70. Traffic fines double when workers are present. Picnic area closed. Trucks must exit when lights are flashing.

It was a long trip.

Leave a Reply

