The Best Time of the Day

I’m an early riser. The best time of the day for me starts around 6:00 and ends about half an hour after sunrise. Unfortunately, I can’t get everything done in that one short time frame.

Here’s a partial list of things I’d like to get done in The Best Time of the Day, in no particular order:

– walking and/or exercising
– reading
– writing letters and emails to friends and family
– writing the Great American Novel (that I haven’t started)
– training dogs
– cleaning house (I don’t really want to do this, I just want to get it over with)
– sewing
– serging
– knitting
– making jewelry
– calligraphy
– photography
– grocery shopping
– eating breakfast
– phoning friends (“It’s not too early to call, is it?”)
– taking a nap (I’ve been up since 4:30, so yes, it’s nap time already)
– taking a drive, tourist-like
– watching the sunrise

Since most days I’m already at the office by that time, here’s what I usually get done:

– read the emails that arrived after I left the office the previous day
– update the status report

No wonder I don’t get to cross hardly anything off of my to-do list.

Leave a Reply

